Churchyard flora – Holga Pic

Taken a couple of months ago with my 35mm format holga (holga 135 bc). This is the churchyard of St John The Baptist in Old Colwyn North Wales.

~ by lenfirewood on December 3, 2008.

8 Responses to “Churchyard flora – Holga Pic”

  1. Beautiful shot. I love the atmosphere and colours, and I like the composition. Very pleasant to the eye. I should get a holga one day – it looks real fun to experiment with.

  2. Yes I have the 35mm format holga (holga 135 bc) which is the format I am accustomed too. So far I have had no problems with this camera and because it has so few controls and settings it just so easy to use. 🙂

  3. The Holga is a wonderful thing, my wife is an enthusiast. Some of our favorite photographs have come out of that cheap little camera.
    I just bumped you from that alpha inventions thing (which i don’t quite understand) and thought I’d drop by. So glad I did – excellent work.

  4. Thanks for the appreciative comments Steven – fascinating blog you have by the way – I don’t usually take much notice of pottery but I really liked the earthy colours and forms that you displayed there.

  5. Hi! i just got my holga 135bc and i was wondering if you could tell me what films i should try with it? 🙂 thanks a lot!

  6. Well I use whatever 35mm film I can get my hands on. So far I have used 200iso Boots colour film, Fujifilm Superia 100iso (now discontinued sadly). Currently I have my film cameras loaded with the new Kodak Ektar 100 iso film. It is supposed to excellent quality but I have had any films developed with this yet. Other enthusiasts load their Holga’s with old or expired film and since the holga is supposed to be a ‘fun’ camera I suppose anything goes. Anyway hope you enjoy your holga and have lots of fun with it. 🙂

  7. I use whatever film I can get my hands on but as a rule even with holga’s I don’t use anything above 200 iso speed film but prefer wherever possible to use 100 iso film. Other users don’t mind the extra graininess that the faster speeds give but I try to avoid that with 35mm (as when you try to get larger prints the graininess can be too evident for my tastes). I have used cheap film from Boots @ 200 iso and also Fujifilm Superia 100 iso (now discontinued sadly) – currently I have loaded the new Kodak Ektar 100 professional (100 iso) in my camera – the film has had good reviews but I have not had any developed yet so I will have to wait and see. Other holga users often experiment with old or expired film – in my opinion this can get mixed results – if the film has deteriorated too badly the results can look very washed out but some experimenters don’t mind this. The holga is meant to be a ‘fun’ camera so anything goes really – experiment and have fun. 🙂

  8. […] Churchyard flora – Holga Pic « Lenfirewood's Weblog September 11th, 2012 | […]

Leave a Reply

 
