Flower Bell (Textured)

Flower Bell (Textured), originally uploaded by lenfirewood.

This is a composite of four cameraphone pics with three of the images used more for their textural qualities – the aim of this pic was to create the illusion that the flower image has been painted onto a surface of woody textures. I used the GIMP for all my effects and masking etc.

~ by lenfirewood on December 17, 2008.

8 Responses to “Flower Bell (Textured)”

  1. Interesting manipulation of photographs, but I do not understand what TTV is

    Gimp is some free software I’ve seen. Fun stuff!

  2. Striking! The texture makes it really interesting.

  3. Hi Rick – TTV just means ‘Through The Viewfinder’ – it is where a camera points it’s lens through the viewfinder of another camera (usually via some light leakproof homemade contraption) to get ‘interesting’ effects. In my case I am usiing ‘fake’ TTV this is where I am using a pre-prepared viewfinder image and simply layer masking this ‘TTV’ image over an ordinary photo. Hope my explanation helps rather than hinders your understanding! lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thank you Jelena – many years ago I used to paint in Oils and now i can emulate that quite easilly in modern graphic programs like the GIMP – not only that I don’t make a mess of my clothes now either! lol ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I just read your explanation of TTV, and I’m still not sure that I quite understand. Don’t mean to be dense. I do shoot my own photography and use Photoshop pretty proficiently.

    I love the texture in this image.

  6. Hi you can see an explanation here http://www.camerapedia.org/wiki/TTV also on that page are other links that give even more detail and examples.
    If you are lazy like me you can ’emulate’ TTV using a ‘fake TTV’ image – this is just a photo of a viewfinder lens which you can overlay(using layer masking) onto a photo of your choice so that the final results looks as if it has been shot ‘through the viewfinder’ of another old camera. A tutorial on fakeTTV (the technique that I also use) is here: http://www.poetic-pixels.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=62:fake-ttv-tutorial&catid=57:post-processing . Hope that helps and that you have as much fun as I have had with the technique. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. The colours in this are fantastic, so vibrant and beautiful, makes me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Glad you liked it ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
